How to set QOS in Telo?

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.

How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby oldtimercurt » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:42 pm

Yes, I know there have been a gazillion posts about this. However, I'm still not able to have solid calls to Germany. If I can't get this resolved, the boss says the unit goes back to Best Buy and we get to go back to Ma Bell.

Configuration is as recommended by Ooma Modem-->Telo-->Router. Cox cable for internet. Downstream varies from 6 Mbps to 30 Mbps. Jitter never more than 1.1ms most less than 1. No lost packets. MOS 4.0 - 4.2.

Here's the part that I can't figure out. My measured upstream varies tremendously during the day low of just over 1.5 Mbps to high of 7.6 Mbps. If I use the low end (fail safe?) what value should I use for QOS? From the FAQ it should be 1500, from forum 1200-1275 Kbps, and in at least one case, several times the measured upstream rate. Which, if any of these is correct?

From the FAQs regarding QOS it seems that Telo isn't smart enough to measure the upstream rate and with the variation I'm experiencing, along with the voice quality issures, the correct input on my part is crucial to a successful installation.

Bear in mind that our Ooma was always intended for outdial long distance use with the critcal success metric being the Germany calls. So far not doing too well.

Any help/clarification/wisdom would be most appreciated.

OTC
oldtimercurt
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 pm

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby murphy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:28 pm

Set both values to 0.
The Telo's requirements are a drop in the bucket with those speeds.
Customer since January 2009
Hub with 2 Scouts
Telo with 2 Handsets and a Linx
murphy
 
Posts: 6012
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby lbmofo » Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:55 pm

With that much swing in speed, something must be wrong with your internet service. Maybe the modem?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Hub with 4 Scouts
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 16 Mbps/2 Mbps
Setup: SB6121/WNDR3400/Hub
BigCrumbs Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image
User avatar
lbmofo
 
Posts: 8777
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby oldtimercurt » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:04 pm

lbmofo,

I thought that cable varied quite a bit due to varying loading on the loop. There does seem to be a time of day pattern to it.

OTC
oldtimercurt
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 pm

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby lbmofo » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:08 pm

Yeah, maybe the downstream may vary from time to time; goes down significantly during evenings. But most of the time, the downstream should be pretty consistent. Early in the morning or late at night.

But even when busy, I haven't noticed much variation in upstream. With your swing, there has got to be something weird going on.

Check out this thread if you haven't yet: viewtopic.php?t=10023
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Hub with 4 Scouts
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 16 Mbps/2 Mbps
Setup: SB6121/WNDR3400/Hub
BigCrumbs Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image
User avatar
lbmofo
 
Posts: 8777
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby oldtimercurt » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:25 pm

Here's a current test. I don't like the upload QOS but what numbers explain it? Jitter server-->you 3.5 ms???

OTC
VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 0.8 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 3.5 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 2480472 bps
Upload speed: 4620536 bps
Download quality of service: 94 %
Upload quality of service: 23 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 103 ms
Average download pause: 10 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 80 ms
Average round trip time to server: 81 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 26400000bps
Route concurrency: 10.643136
Download TCP forced idle: 76 %
Maximum route speed: 6553496bps
oldtimercurt
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 pm

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby murphy » Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:21 am

Your download speed is about half of your upload speed. The only time I have seen that is when my modem failed due to overheating. Any chance you have a Scientific Atlanta DPC2100 modem?
Customer since January 2009
Hub with 2 Scouts
Telo with 2 Handsets and a Linx
murphy
 
Posts: 6012
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby thunderbird » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:06 am

If you have a router that provides QoS for VoIP priority, you may try setting up as follows: Modem-Router-Ooma Device.
Use the following guide for setup.

The steps below are just suggestions. Your may choose to use some or all of the Outline steps below, depending on your equipment and network requirements.

1. Optional suggestion: Install Cat 6 shielded patch cables from modem to router and from router to Ooma device.
2. Ooma device:
a. Enable Ooma device’s built-in MAC address.
b. Assign static IP address (IP number obtained from your router) in the Ooma device.
c. Disable QoS in Ooma device by setting upload/download settings to zero.
3. Verify that your router’s firmware is up to date.
4. Verify that your router provides support for QoS (Quality of Service) VoIP priority. (Some router manufactures use similar but different names for QoS), reference check router manual.
5. Enable router QoS settings as required, reference check router manual.
Good Luck.
6. Place your Ooma device into your router’s DMZ using the static IP address you assigned to your Ooma device, reference check router manual.
7. Create in router, router rule(s) to open Ooma ports, (Setup location sometimes found in router gaming menu) reference check router manual.
a. Ooma uses the following application ports for data and voice traffic,
UDP 53, UDP 123, UDP 514, UDP 1194, UDP 3386, UDP 3480, UDP 10000-20000, TCP 53 and TCP 443.
8. With Ooma device connected behind (LAN side of) router, don’t use Ooma home port. Use your router ports for other devices on your LAN system.
9. Do a cold boot of router.
10. Do a cold boot of Ooma device after router cold boot has been completed.
11. Optional suggestion: For new installation, test Ooma device VoIP phone system for a few days connected to only one wired phone.
thunderbird
 
Posts: 6248
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby oldtimercurt » Sat Dec 11, 2010 9:31 am

Just talked with cable tech support. On my way to buy Motorola 5101 modem. We'll see if this helps.

OTC
oldtimercurt
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 pm

Re: How to set QOS in Telo?

Postby oldtimercurt » Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:22 pm

Here are results from new SB 5101U. Still shows upload/download inversion but not 2:1 as before also, QOS while not great is considerably better than readings before. Based on one test new modem has improved my setup. Have to wait to make live test call to Germany tomorrow--damn time difference sure is inconvenient :)

OTC

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 1.2 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 3.7 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 4281160 bps
Upload speed: 4910520 bps
Download quality of service: 95 %
Upload quality of service: 69 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 101 ms
Average download pause: 6 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 83 ms
Average round trip time to server: 89 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 28000000bps
Route concurrency: 6.5402837
Download TCP forced idle: 79 %
Maximum route speed: 6316624bps
oldtimercurt
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 pm

Next

Return to Call Quality

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest