Kad Network firewalled when using emule

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.

Kad Network firewalled when using emule

Postby newbie1 » Sun May 09, 2010 12:14 am

When I am using emule, it says
Kad Network
Status: Firewalled
UDP Status: Firewalled

My download speed is really slow. I am not using a router. I connect my cable modem directly to the ooma huba and then directly to my computer. My ISP is Comcast. I have the 6 mbps plan. Before I used ooma, the kad network status and udp status is open and the download speed is fast. Do you guys know how I can resolve this issue? Thanks.
newbie1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 11:53 pm

Re: Kad Network firewalled when using emule

Postby sfhub » Sun May 09, 2010 6:49 am

I don't know if it is a good idea, but assuming you know what you are doing and considering you weren't using a router before you had ooma, if you want to have a similar setup as before, enter your PCs IP address as the DMZ inside of the Ooma setup page. If your PC is set up to use DHCP, configure it for static or it might pick up a new IP address in the future, making the the DMZ rule invalid.
sfhub
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:22 am

Re: Kad Network firewalled when using emule

Postby 9376303212 » Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:50 am

I have a solution... not sure if it's best, but it works with my eMule lowid issue. I'm no expert, just know enough to be dangerous. I've had no problems, but move forward at your own risk.

1. Get the pc ip address:
To do this, run ipconfig from the command line.
Your pc ip address is the "IPv4 Address" (at least on my machine)

2. Ooma hub interface:
In your browser (FYI, Chrome didn't work with my version, but IE and Firefox do) type in setup.ooma.com.
The Ooma Hub interface should appear.
Click on the Advanced link on the left navigation and, at the bottom, add one of the following set of port rules.

3.1 (untested) Port Forwarding for specific ports (if you prefer not to open all ports, detailed at bottom):
port # = <eMule TCP port #>, type="TCP", Forward to IP address= <pc ip address>
port # = <eMule UDP port #>, type="UDP", Forward to IP address= <pc ip address>

--OR--

3.2 (tested) Port Forwarding for all ports:
If you have a good firewall, you may choose to skip the 2 rules above and port forward all allowed ports, as 3 ranges.
Ooma uses ports 1194 and 49000-49999 for your telephone
Type="TCP and UDP", and Forward to IP address= <pc ip address> for all below:
range 1: ports 1 - 1193
range 2: ports 1195 - 48999
range 3: ports 50000 - 65534
Last edited by 9376303212 on Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
9376303212
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:49 am

Re: Kad Network firewalled when using emule

Postby highq » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:24 am

Using your phone number as your username here is probably a spam magnet. Consider calling Customer Service to have it changed.
User avatar
highq
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest